The Creole Princess book coverAs a fan of historical fiction, and someone with an interest in 18th century history, The Creole Princess was a very interesting look at the Revolutionary War in the U.S. from a part of the country that is rarely featured in history. It is also a romance, though that often takes second place to the events of history. I enjoyed the characters and the glimpse of life on the frontier of Mobile and New Orleans. I had no idea of Spain’s involvement in the revolution and found that very interesting. This is also a story about race, slavery, and acceptance of inter-racial relations, which was an interesting added twist. As the plot played out it seemed almost too ideal and perhaps not grounded in what it really would have been like for an interracial family, but one can hope for the best.

I thought the picture the author painted of the 18th century was pretty realistic.  While there were a few anachronisms that pulled me out of the story, there were less than I see in other books I have read about this period.  I also thought the politics of the period were tactfully portrayed as well.  One thing that is a hot button for me is the assumption that all people in the colonies were in favor of revolution.  While the main characters in this story did all land on the side of the colonies, I appreciated seeing some of the journey and struggle to get to that political position.

The romances in the book are sweet. I enjoyed getting to know the characters and seeing their development and reactions to the events of the story. I plan to read the previous book in the series and subsequent books as well. My only complaint was that it seemed like it ended too abruptly. I wish there was more!

I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

